full-disclosure-uk August 2008 archive
Main Archive Page > Month Archives  > full-disclosure-uk archives
full-disclosure-uk: Re: [Full-disclosure] [funsec] facebook mess

Re: [Full-disclosure] [funsec] facebook messages worm

From: Gadi Evron <ge_at_nospam>
Date: Thu Aug 07 2008 - 05:15:24 GMT
To: Juha-Matti Laurio <juha-matti.laurio@netti.fi>

On Thu, 7 Aug 2008, Juha-Matti Laurio wrote:
> It has the following mechanism according to McAfee:
> http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_148955.htm
> They use name W32/Koobface.worm and Kaspersky (Kaspersky Labs originally
> discovered this threat) uses name Net-Worm.Win32.Koobface.b.

This is going to *possibly* cause support line bottlenecks tomorrow.

This worm is somewhat similar to zlob, here is a link to a kaspersky paper on a previous iteration of it, they call it koobface: http://www.kaspersky.com/news?id=207575670

The worm collects spam subject lines from, and then sends the users personal data to the following C&C:

I spoke with DirectNIC last night and the Registrar Operations (reg-ops) mailing list was updated that the domain is no longer reachable. That was very fast response time from DirectNIC, which we appreciate.

The worm is still fast-spreading, watch the statistics as they fly: http://www.d9.pl/system/stats.php

The facebook security team is working on this, and they are quite capable. The security operations community has been doing analysis and take-downs, but the worm seems to still be spreading.

All anti virus vendors have been notified, and detection (if not removal) should be added within a few hours to a few days.

For now, while users may get infected, their information is safe (UNLESS the worm has a secondary contact C&C which I have not verified yet).

It seems like some users may have learned not to click on links in email, but any other medium does not compute.


> More information here too:
> http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2327272,00.asp
> Juha-Matti
> "John C. A. Bambenek, GCIH, CISSP" [bambenek.infosec@gmail.com] kirjoitti:
>> What's the infection vector? URL Link? Rouge Facebook app?
>> On Wed, Aug 6, 2008 at 4:44 PM, Gadi Evron <ge@linuxbox.org> wrote:
>> > Hi all.
>> >
>> > There's a facebook (possibly worm) something malicious sending fake
>> > messages from real users (friends).
>> >
>> > The sample also has a remote drop site (verified by someone who shall
>> > remain nameless).
>> >
>> > This is possibly zlob, not verified. Thanks Nick Bilogorskiy for his
>> help.
>> >
>> > Infection sites seen so far are on .pl domains.
>> >
>> > The AV industry will soon add detection.
>> > Facebook's security folks are very capable, so I am not worried on that
>> > front.
>> >
>> > It's not that we didn't expect this for a long time now, but...
>> > Be careful. Some users know to be careful in email.. but not on facebook.
>> >
>> > Note: unlike 2003 when we called everything a worm and the 90s when
>> > everything was a virus--this is a bot which also spreads/infects on
>> > facebook.
>> >
>> > Gadi.
>> >
>> >
>> > --
>> > "You don't need your firewalls! Gadi is Israel's firewall."
>> > -- Itzik (Isaac) Cohen, "Computers czar", Senior Deputy to the
>> > Accountant General,
>> > Israel's Ministry of Finance, at the government's CIO conference,
>> > 2005.
>> >
>> > (after two very funny self-deprication quotes, time to even things
>> up!)
>> >
>> > My profile and resume:
>> > http://www.linkedin.com/in/gadievron

Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/