how about being able to use multiple virtual hosts.

Questions, comments, or suggestions on how to improve the EnGarde Secure Linux community.

Moderators: scrumpy, Dave, leihog

how about being able to use multiple virtual hosts.

Postby usalabs on Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:25 pm

My suggestion is to be able to use multiple virtual hosts on corresponding virtualk ip's, ie......

primary eth0 network ip = 192.168.0.100
virtual network eth0:1 = 192.168.0.110
virtual network eth0:2 = 192.168.0.120

virtual host (1) = http://www.domain.com = 192.168.0.100
virtual host (2) = http://www.domain2.com = 192.168.0.110
virtual host (3) = http://www.domain3.com = 192.168.0.120

vh(1) set up and access from WAN = perfect
vh(2) set up, OK, access from WAN = forbidden
vh(3) set up, OK, access from WAN = forbidden

All external DNS records for vh(1.2.3) point to the same WAN ip address, and there's no errors written to any of the logs.

Therefore Engarde can NOT use multiple virtual hosts on multiple virtual networks.

In future versions maybe this can be implimented.
usalabs
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 3:12 am

Re: how about being able to use multiple virtual hosts.

Postby wkeys on Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:14 am

hi

Thank you for your suggestion. Do know any ways of implementing this with EnGarde?

Bests
~Bill
wkeys
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: how about being able to use multiple virtual hosts.

Postby usalabs on Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:16 pm

Without sounding sarcastic, if I knew of a way, then I would have implemented it, but as I don't, that's why I posted the suggestion.

As I don't use Engarde, I'm posting messages for people I know that do use it, but don't have the time to post, so I post for them.
usalabs
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 3:12 am


Return to Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron