Network Interface not recognized...

Discuss installation issues/solutions for Engarde

Moderators: scrumpy, Dave, leihog

Network Interface not recognized...

Postby mkirtani on Thu Sep 25, 2008 2:43 pm

Hi,

I have a bizarre problem. I have tried to install EnGrade Linux several times but I just cannot get the network card to work and hence I cannot log into the Web Tool. Other distro's have no problem accessing the internet from the same machine and same Ethernet port.

I searched the forum and did some troubleshooting. I have Intel Corporation 82573L Gigabit Ethernet Controller using module e1000 and the installation finds it. I choose static mode because I am behind the company firewall. My ifconfig command returns this

Code: Select all
Link Encap: Local Loopback.
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask 255.255.255.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
...


That is the only thing I see.

I am completely stumped....any help would be appreciated...

Thanks
mkirtani
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 2:34 pm

Re: Network Interface not recognized...

Postby wkeys on Fri Sep 26, 2008 8:15 am

hi

Most of the time the installer will fail if your network module was not detected

Can you please post the output of the below commands so that we can see more debugging information:
Code: Select all
# newrole -r sysadm_
# lsmod
# /etc/init.d/network restart



Bests,
~Bill
wkeys
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: Network Interface not recognized...

Postby mkirtani on Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:03 am

This is what i get when i type those commands

Code: Select all
#newrole -r sysadm_
Couldn't get default type.

#lsmod
Module       Size        Used by
i2c_i801     12952     0
i2c_core     23560     1 i2c_i801
e1000       124692     0
ahci           30228     4
sd_mod      29960     5

#/etc/init.d/network restart
[SUCCESSFUL] Deconfiguring network interfaces
[SUCCESSFUL] Configuring network interfaces
mkirtani
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 2:34 pm

Re: Network Interface not recognized...

Postby wkeys on Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:03 am

hi

Sorry typo :-) this is the correct command.

newrole -r sysadm_r

Bests,
~Bill
wkeys
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: Network Interface not recognized...

Postby sha8e on Mon May 11, 2009 6:52 am

Hi,

I have the same problem, and when I do a ping I get:
network unreachable

I have a static IP and running the System from inside a Bridged Virtual Machine.


Any help is highly appreciated.
sha8e
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 5:08 am


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron